About Us Advisory issued by ROK government for Indian nationals arriving in Republic of Korea, dated 21st May, 2020

Embassy of India


Advisory for Indian nationals arriving in Republic of Korea

Republic of Korea (ROK) has decided to take following measures, effective at 00:00 hours on 1st June 2020 concerning COVID-19.

Government of Republic of Korea has decided to temporarily suspend the waiver of Re-entry permits for long term visa holders in an effort to cope effectively with the inflow of COVID-19. This measure will come into effect at 00:00 hours on 1st June 2020 and remain in effect until further notice.

Accordingly starting from 1st June, 2020, all foreigners, excluding holders of A-1 (Diplomatic), A-2 (Official), A-3 (Treaties) and F-4 (Overseas Koreans) visas, who reside in Korea with long term visas, shall apply for a Re- entry permit through a local immigration office before leaving Korea if they wish to maintain their status and period of stay. Leaving Korea without a Re-entry permit will result in cancellation of their Alien Registration in accordance with Article 37 of the Immigration Act. In this case, the foreigner must obtain a new long term visa to re-enter Korea.

All foreigners who are granted a Re-entry permit and wish to re-enter Korea shall undergo a medical examination not earlier than 48 hours prior to the date of their departure for Korea and present a written diagnosis when requested by a transport operator and an immigration officer. Failure to do the same may result in re-entry denial. The diagnosis shall be written in Korean or English, signed by a medical examiner and issued by an authorized medical institution. It shall also include date of examination and presence or absence of fever, cough, chills, headache, breathing difficulty, muscle pain, and pulmonary symptoms.

However, foreigners who hold an Isolation Exemption Certificate issued by Korean Embassy or consulate are exempted from medical examination and the obligation to submit written diagnosis.

Note: Korean Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MoFA) has clarified that the above mentioned instructions do not apply to foreign nationals who travel out of Korea before June 1, 2020.